Home > Photography > On the trip with Fuji X-E1

On the trip with Fuji X-E1

When Fuji first introduced X100 few years back, the photographic community got excited about new fresh approach. Reasonably sized rangefinder-like camera with big sensor and retro design was very appealing. Then, along came X Pro1 with it’s brand nex X-Trans sensor and interchangeable lenses. I’ve been waiting for something like this for a long time but again, after a while when reviews came through I was still bit confused and not entirely convinced. The price tag was quite hefty for camera with so many quirks but folks out there were still quite hyped about it. I went to a local shop to get my hands on it and boy it felt great. I pictured myself waking on the streets with this thing, unnoticed and free of DSLR bulk. But still, there was something that stopped me to pull the trigger. I guess it was mostly the price. Then Fuji X-E1 was announced and I was immediately hooked. I always wanted a camera that can be on me all the time. I do not care I cannot slide it in pocket. As long as I don’t have to visit chiropractor after caring it whole day I am fine. Initial hands on reports and early reviews were great, first image samples unbelievable so I was like sitting on the needles when it became available. I got it immediately being probably the first person in Singapore who bought it. They even took a photo of me in the shop. Just in time for my upcoming trip to Myanmar. There was not enough time to go through manual properly, I just skimmed through it. I purchased the 35mm Fujinon lens with it as the zoom lens was still unavailable at that time. I do have to mention that this is my first camera with EVF and apart from brief experience with Panasonic GF-1 I have no extensive experience with mirrorless cameras.

Fuji X-E1 looks just gorgeous. I think after X100 this is the best looking camera on the market. I really liked the Olympus OM-D design but I think Fuji topped it, full stop. I picked the black version as I do not want to draw too much attention and it looks little less “flashy”. To me, it is more photojournalist-like camera. Fuji X-E1 feels great in hands, has a solid build and it doesn’t feel cheap. Yet it is still very light and one can barely notice it even after whole day wearing it on the shoulder or around the neck. And I know from experience that carying for example D800 with two lenses in hot day in Myanmar drains you pretty fast. With X-E1 there is sill a plenty of energy left in me even after whole day shooting. There is additional hand grip accessory that is available for purchase but I never had need for it. I have big hands, and never had trouble holding it or being afraid it gets knocked out of my hand.

As I am still relatively new to this camera so I often find myself trying to use it in a way I use DSLR (have Nikon DSLR). Especially my right index finger is continuously looking for command dial to change aperture. This is of course not Fuji’s fault, I just need more time to get used to it. And it has been a while since I had to change aperture on the lens barrel. After a while I got used to it and have no problem to switch back and forth from “DSLR way” to “Fuji way”. Camera is small enough to reach the aperture ring with whatever finger you feel comfortable to change the aperture. EVF display shows the updated aperture with little lag though. Not a big deal, especially when you use it enough and it becomes a second nature to you. So far pretty good.

Changing from aperture to shutter priority or to manual settings is pretty cool. If shutter speed dial is set to A (automatic) and aperture ring to anything but A then camera is in aperture priority. Likewise if aperture is set to A and shutter dial to anything else but A then it is in shutter speed priority. Both set on A and we are in automatic mode. Both set away from A and we have full manual goodness. Buttons on the back are big enough so it is easy to handle them with exception of “Q”, the quick menu button. The height of the button is in same level as the camera case so occasionally it might be little hard to press or locate without looking at camera back. There is an exposure compensation dial right in the top right side of the camera. Easy to locate but also very easy to turn. It happened to me several times that I accidentally set and an exposure compensation without noticing it. I would prefer if the handling was little more stiff or it had some kind of lock to prevent from moving away from desired setting.

The on/off switch on top of the camera, seems to me also little loose. I often turned on the camera accidentally while putting it to bag  and I was surprised later that battery was flat. I guess I just need to be little more careful and always check if camera is switched off.

Changing the autofocus point is awkward. Button is positioned lower left corner on the back of the camera. This means it cannot be done without moving the camera away from the face and not looking like I am digging the nose at the same time. This can be a big deal to some. I mostly use only the middle autofocus point, lock the focus and exposure and then recompose. I think it is faster but certain situations may call for changing the autofocus point. This technique doesn’t work with aperture wide open. At F1.4 the depth of field is so shallow that even that slight movement when recomposing can throw the focus off. ( If you look carefully at photograph of Buddhist monk from Myanmar, the Golden Land article, this is exactly what happened. Eyes are not the sharpest part of photograph.). I often soot wide open so unfortunately this happens to me a lot.

Focusing seems still slow to me. This is definitely not an action photography camera. When it find and locks the focus, it is dead on. However in bad light conditions camera hunts for focus and cannot seem to find it. There is a manual focus available but personally I do not like it. It is focus by wire and you have to turn on the focus ring many times to get where you need to be. It feels especially slow compared to OM-D or Nikon V1 which is smokin’ fast. There is new firmware available for lenses so hope this might improve the situation. Generally, in good lighting conditions, when I got out of focus pictures, it was always my fault.

Low ISO performance is on par with the best DSLR cameras in my opinion. Period. It natively supports ISO range from 200 to 6400. Even at ISO 6400, the image is very much usable. I wish there was easier way to change ISO quickly. Quick menu button is ok but not ideal. You can map this function to function button on top of the camera, however changing the setting is not done by command dial but rather with control buttons. This makes it quite hard to do when you have the camera up the face. This would be possible to change by firmware and I wish Fuji addressed this .

Display on the back is smaller than X Pro1 but I don’t really care. I never had problem with the size of preview pictures during my trip. I only wish the histograms were little bigger as that is my primary “image check” tool. Back display has 3 operation modes. You can either shoot using solely back display, or use only EVF. Third setting engages eye sensor so once you look through EVF, camera switches off the display. I personally used EVF only as big display on the camera drains the battery. And also viewfinder on mirrorles camera is a feature I wanted. Not to mention that having the camera at the eye gives you another point of contact which helps to stabilize it little more and prevent blurry images.

Camera turns on reasonably quickly, but I kept it on most of the time so I wouldn’t miss shots. Sometimes life “happens” much faster than camera can get shot ready. I still have to get used EVF. Reviews mention about how great it is but my lack of experience with EVF in general doesn’t really allow me to compare it against anything. My personal feeling is that refresh rate is little slow. It is bright though so I can see the scene well enough even in low light.

There is a little shutter lag. Maybe if would not be so obvious to me if I didn’t come from DSLR world. It is not as bad though and most of the pictures come out just fine. With little more practice there will be surely better results. Occasionally when I thought I half-pressed the shutter release and locked the focus, I did not and on full depress camera still tried to find focus. This happened for few times but it is not necessarily camera’s fault. I just need to get more “feel” for the shutter release. I can probably update this after I get more hands on experience with it.

UPDATE: EVF seemed to freeze every time that shutter was pressed. There was an article on Fuji Rumors that it is actually a preview image that is briefly showing up after capture and thus it makes impression of EVF freeze. I thought this is camera’s default behaviour as it doesn’t make sense to me to show preview for such a short time. As it turns out, I missed this menu setting completely. And I can confirm, after turning it off the camera feels much more snappier. So kudos to Fuji Rumors and Andrew who brought this up.

Files are written to SD card. I used the one that came with camera and writing speeds were not the fastest. I assume, by using faster card the performance will improve. As I do not shoot in burst mode with this camera (even though it is able to do it at 6fps) I am not finding it as such a big issue.

Fujinon 35mm lens in very nice and sharp. It is also fast and it is rendering bokeh in very pleasing way. It comes with lens hood and rubber lens cap. I find it useless as it easily falls down and it is likely to be lost rather soon.

When it comes to quality of image I think Fuji nailed it 110%. It is simply stunning. My “WOW” sounded much louder than when I first time saw files from Nikon D800. There is something to the X-Trans sensor. I shoot RAW and I am using Lightroom 4 for post processing. I am stunned by quality, colour rendition and dynamic range. I have to say that light condition I used this camera were pretty though ones with mostly very contrasty scenes, yet I was able to pull so much details from highlights as well as shadows.

This camera is not without quirks as many previous Fuji cameras but it has less of them and Fuji seems to continuously working on improvements. It is easy one to fall in love with. And boy, I do love it. It is unobtrusive, light, relatively easy to handle and well built. I can carry it all day long without even noticing the weight. I was photographing local people in Myanmar and went almost unnoticed while when I pulled off D800 they got either scared or I was almost immediately asked for some “monetary” donations.  With growing lens range from Fuji as well as lenses from other vendors (noticeable Zeiss – EXCITING!!!) the future looks very promising. Fuji does something right since there is lot of hype about the X range of their cameras. I am so excited than I thing if I don’t turn pro (which is not likely to happen) I might have already purchased my last DSLR. This is only short insight and there can be definitely more written about it. What I can say I didn’t regret a bit investing money into this jewel. Hope you found this helpful and if you get hone too I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I do.

Categories: Photography Tags: ,
  1. Vieux Loup
    November 4, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Why did you include all these photos out of focus? If you wanted to show a “soft” atmosphere, you missed, because they are too soft. This is not the camera’s fault!!

    • admin
      November 4, 2012 at 10:01 am

      I don’t think all of them are out of focus. Some have very shallow depth of field. Autofucos is much slower than I am used to so sometimes there is a miss. That just illustrates the point that for somebody who is not used to it it may take some time to get used to how the camera works.

    • roberto a
      November 4, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      i dont see any out of focus images, only very well achieved shallow DOF (and very nice images), maybe you need to check your prescription glasses, nowadays i rather say something nice or nothing.

      • Peter
        November 5, 2012 at 5:17 am

        Roberto, I think this is a web browser issue. All images (except for the first one on top of the page) look very blurry in IE. But in Firefox they all look great.

    • Macbuntu
      November 11, 2012 at 5:40 am

      I don’t any images out of focus. Strangely, maybe it is your resolution problem. All images I see are sharp, clear and color saturated. X-E1 is an awesome camera. This really makes me to consider buying one. Thanks for sharing.

  2. rudy
    November 4, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    you are a nikon shooter and also use X-E1 so i wanna ask you
    right now the Nikon D7000 and Fuji X-E1 r both selling for 1000$ so which one do you recommend as a camera and also the whole set of lenses that both companies offer ? I should say that i currently own a D5000 and im dont really complain about the focus because i can usually find contrasty areas where i can grab focus so does the X-E1 has similar performance in terms of focusing ? and do you this the new fujinon 18-55 f2.8-4 with the linear motor solve this whole issue ?
    Thank you in advance

    • admin
      November 4, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Hi Rudy,
      I didn’t have chance to test 18-55mm zoom, so I cannot comment on it’s performance. Regarding X-E1 autofocus, it is very accurate but little slower than competition (Olympus OM-D ) and slower than DSLRs. I am not complaining about it, just stating the fact. Only time when I had little problem focusing was in low light conditions and tracking fast moving objects. But again, this camera was not meant to be action camera so I am perfectly fine with the performance for situations I need.
      As far as which camera to choose, I would say it depends what kind of photography you do. D7000 is in my opinion much more versatile camera with much broader lens choice and great performance. On the other side Fuji is smaller, lighter but not so versatile. They both have similar sensor size and megapixel count. also do you want to replace the D5000 or just get another body? Also how heavily you invested in your Nikon system? Do you have additional lenses or own only kit lens?
      As I mentioned in article, Fuji handles much more differently then DSLR and it takes some time to get used to it. But once you do and you are comfortable with it, it is rock’n roll. If you have chance to get hand on camera, either in shop or some places might rent it out. Get it for a day and see yourself how you feel about it. In terms of image quality, neither would disappoint you. Both cameras produce stunning images.
      If anybody else reading this has opinion, please feel free to share.

      • November 4, 2012 at 8:34 pm

        i only have the 18-55 vr its a sharp lens and focuses fast enough for me since i dont shoot sports but i wanna upgrade because i like to walk in the city and shoot at night. at iso 3200 i get a lot of noise and when it comes to fast primes the only DX lens for low light is the 200$ 35f1.8g which is sharp and focuses fast but has very bad bokeh. or i can get the 1800$ 35f1.4G FX which is ridiculously expensive and 3 times the price of the fujinon 35f1.4
        Another option is to pay 2100$ for D600 so i could use the 50f1.4G which isnt that sharp nor contrasty at f1.4 which is really the purpose why you buy an f1.4 lens or i can use the 50f1.8G and lose 2/3 of a stop.
        however fujinon 35f1.4 sells for 600$ and even 400$ as a kit lens is very sharp and contrasty has great bokeh and very low distortion compared to the nikon lenses. so you see fuji to me seems like a great investment but the only thing scaring me is the focus and if its only as good as the 18-55 on the D5000 i would go for fuji without any hesitation.
        i hope im not complicating things too much for you 😀

      • Richard
        November 5, 2012 at 2:07 am

        I see. Before I bought this camera, I used Nikkor 50mm 1.4 on full frame body as my go to glass. That lens is older, still has aperture ring on the barrel but I love it to death. And it was cheap. Yes it is maybe little soft wide open but DOF is so shallow anyway that most of the picture will fall out of focus. Unfortunately using it on cropped frame you get something like 75mm.
        Best advice I can give you on X-E1, or what I would do, is trying it. Not sure if there is camera rental around your place but it is great way to test if the camera suits your needs and way of working. From what you write I get impression that Fuji X-E1 would fit your needs but don’t forget that it really has some trouble focusing in low light. And you really get feel of the speed only if you try it. Other than this and fast action this camera sings 🙂

  3. Peter
    November 4, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    The pics look very blurry and out of focus. However, when you click on them they look great! A web browser issue maybe? I’m using IE.
    Thanks for sharing your fantastic pictures!

    • admin
      November 4, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      Hi Peter, I am still working on this website. I try to prevent any issues but here and there some slips in. I am not webdesigner by trade and I am learning things on the go :). Anyway, I enlarged the thumbnails a little and they should be clearer now. My bad, but I didn’t have time to test it on IE unfortunately. I am glad you like the photos.

  4. Steve
    November 4, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Pictures look terrific to me. Thanks for writing this review, very informative. I’m looking forward to getting a xe1 and leaving my Dslr behind on my travels, this review confirms this is the right camera for the task.

  5. Peter M
    November 5, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Hi Richard,

    Thanks for the brilliant pictures. They don’t seem to be out of focus in my opinion. The DOF makes others to say they are. I’m planning to change and I’m very excited of Fuji XE-1. I decided to invest Fuji’s mirrorless system. I have a Nikon D7000 too, and some very good fix focal lenses, but actually DSLR is not I’m dreaming for…
    and I’m a little disapointed the tiny sensor of Nikon V1, and the new Nikon line too. DSLR is too bulky, I’m looking for a smaller system for landscape, travelling, portrait and probably for street fotography (my new intrest). So I’m looking for Fuji, and you make my desicion stronger.

    I’m totally agree with you, the Nikon D7000 has very good image quality, fast AF (that sometimes makes you not to think much about your picture, just shoot). In fact Nikon D7000’s AF often hunt the focus in low light. (Especially at low contrast). So………

    (Sorry for my English….)

    Thanks for the photos. I felt the athmosphere of Myanmar, and that is the thing makes your pictures great…

    • Richard
      November 5, 2012 at 2:09 am

      No worries. I am not native English speaker either and I understood what you have written just fine 🙂 I am glad the article helped.

  6. Steve
    November 5, 2012 at 12:02 am

    Hey mate,

    Just got an x-e1 with the 35 and 18mm (sold my 5d2, 24 and 135mm for Fuji !).
    This camera is great ! I agree with you concerning the focus, it is a bit slower than DSLR but itsnt really a problem for me. The gain is weight, size etc is unvaluable… !

    Otherwise I don’t get why people are saying you’re images are blurred, they are not and they are absolutely beautiful ! Any chance you can tell us in which sim mode took these (I believe the landscapes are in velvia ?).

    Cheers and once again, good job on the pictures 😉

    Steve

    • Richard
      November 5, 2012 at 2:15 am

      Hi Steve, my setting is “standard picture mode”, however I shoot RAW. So, anybody correct me if I am wrong but in RAW mode doesn’t really matter what picture style you choose. Those are used only in-camera jpeg rendering I believe. All post processing is done in Lightoroom.

  7. November 5, 2012 at 12:12 am

    Great pictures indeed well done.
    That Fuji 35mm f1.4 is awesome isn’t it? Nothing else matches it for price, and few 50mm equiv’s match it’s smooth background rendering.

    I sold my X-pro1 with 18mm and 35mm and have the X100 now (for a second time lol), but the new price of the X-E1 is very tempting 😛

    • Richard
      November 5, 2012 at 2:16 am

      Agree, I love it. As I said in article. I probably already bought my last DSLR 🙂

  8. Peter P
    November 5, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Great “review”! I am still hesitating to buy it because I think that Fuji’s going to release a full frame sister cam pretty soon. I’ve got a D7000 with a variety of DX lenses and am not sure which path to take: Get the E1 as my secondary, or wait for a full frame as a secondary, in which case I’m worried that I’d just never bother taking the D7000 on travels. The only way I’ll upgrade the D7000 is if a full frame mirrorless equivalent comes out but that won’t be any time soon methinks. It’s a dilema. Your pictures are fantastic by the way.

    • Richard
      November 5, 2012 at 2:21 am

      Yes I heard the talks that X mount will be able to take full frame sensor but Fuji denied those rumours. I used to think same way. There are no rumours about as of yet when that camera comes. And if it does there might be something even better on the horizon and that stops you from getting it again. Rather than waiting for full frame I already have very capable X-E1 and only limitation I encounter is my own skill and vision.

      • Norbert
        December 13, 2012 at 2:55 pm

        From time to time there are rumors about a FF sensor… But I won’t believe it. Changing sensor size means to develop a complete new set of lenses. Even Fuji don’t has unlimited resources and right now they are concentrating on the launch of the announced lenses. So I wouldn’t expect anything FF before 2014 – if ever. I own the X-Pro and agree with you Richard… the only limitation is my own skill and vision.

        Great stuff, beautiful photos, Richard!

  9. November 5, 2012 at 4:43 am

    Beautiful photos. Zeiss launch the x-mount lens for Fuji?

  10. vam
    November 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Richard, it was an interesting read and your pictures are gorgeous and inspiring. They say all the time Lightroom can’t process the Fuji raws properly but your images say otherwise.

    I have the E-M5 now with a nice set of lenses and I can say it has the most reliable AF (speed and accuracy) out of every camera on the market, including non-pro DSLRs as I have tested them all. Doing portraits wide open with the eye-detect AF is much more reliable than focusing and recomposing with the center AF point. And the camera itself is amazingly reliable in every situation (maybe sports would be an exception which I don’t do). But… I had once the Fuji X100 and it was by far the most enjoyable camera I’ve ever used so I’m going to switch the Olympus to the X-E1. My only dilemma is related to the Fuji’s AF speed and “simpleness”. I’m sure where would be more misses with it but you’re saying the AF is actually usable and reliable and after getting used to it is it good enough? For me it seems like a harder to use but more rewarding camera with it’s gorgeous colors and image quality and of course the joy of using the traditional dials.

    • Richard
      November 10, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      That is true. If you go to fujirumors.com there is an article and image sample about how different raw processors render the image. Fuji is now working with Adobe to implement better file rendering into Camera Raw. SO I am really excited to see what they come up with. The file is already quite impressive. As for my images, thanks a lot for liking them. Images are sharp but only way to really compare them (and see any improvements) is to wait for new version of Camera Raw and compare it side by side 1:1.

      • vam
        November 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm

        Thanks for the tip, in fact I’m coming from fujirumors where you’re article was mentioned. These 100% crops like in the comparison are sometimes misguiding enlarging the differences so it was reassuring seeing your images. But of course if they can improve the processing I’m always glad to see it.

        I was going to say it would be nice to see an article of your experiences about the Myanmar trip too but I see you already wrote about it so I’m going to dive in your blog now.

  11. November 10, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Hi Richard,

    i enjoyed your post about Myanmar and your X-E1 Review.
    Your pictures are wonderful – sharp, coloruful, nice moments… impressive!

    I have the same setup but without the Kit lens. My X-E1 is also a black beauty with the XF 35mm.
    I´m a little bit surprised about the sharpness of your files. When i compare some older files from my Panasonic G3 with Zuiko 45mm or the 20mm Pancake with my X-E1 RAW files the i get disappointed – The JPG files are really nice and sharp (for instance this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/imkerhonig/8131840172/ – shoot with X-E1 and JPG).

    How do you process your files in LR and what are your settings in the X-E1?

    Would be nice to see your workflow (maybe via mail or blogpost? 🙂 ).

    Cheers,
    Damian

  12. Peter
    November 10, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Hi Richard,

    Thanks for your great review and photos! Very informative.

    From your post I understand that you also own a Nikon D800. How does the x-e1 perform compared to the D800 w.r.t. Dynamic range, color depth and sharpness?

    Peter

    • Richard
      November 11, 2012 at 1:50 am

      I have to say in terms of image quality it stands the ground pretty well. It doesn’t have the megapixel count but dynamic range is quite impressive. Look at examples. The who sunset scenes came out extremely contrasty since I had not tripod to do HDR neither grad filters to even the exposure between sky and ground. Yet, I was able to reveal so much detail. As far as sharpness goes, it is little hard to compare 16Mpx sensor to 36Mpix one. But photos are sharp, even with lack of support from Adobe (I didn’t try native SilkyPix). If I had to choose between 2 cameras now, I pick Fuji over D800. If I wanted DSLR I would pick D600 but at the time I bought D800 I had no clue it is coming.

      • Peter
        November 12, 2012 at 12:18 pm

        Thanks Richard,

        From what I’ve seen from photos across the web, the only reason for me to opt for a D800 would be the extra pixels for macro photography. While some argue that Nikon and Canon are better for nature and landscape, I’ve seen incredible shots taken with the fuji xpro1 (also macro). Speed is not an issue.

        Your experience helped me made up my mind: go initially for the Fuji. 8 out of 10 photos taken do not need the pixels of the D800. So thank you for that.

        Peter

      • Richard
        November 13, 2012 at 2:57 am

        I have to agree with that. Unless you print big or you are camera geek and you just want to have it, you don’t need D800.

  13. November 10, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    @Damian

    maybe this is the reason for your complaints: http://www.fujirumors.com/firmware-update-acr-7-3-and-lightroom-4-3-x-trans-raw-adobe-co-vs-jpg-out-of-camera/
    LR does not support Fuji XTrans

  14. November 11, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Nice pictures! For the benefit of any Brits like me who wonder where Myanmar is, it’s the country we call Burma. I’ve had my X-E1 for a month now – had it shipped over from Hong Kong – and I love it! Interestingly, I do actually intend to use it for sports photography, mainly for skateboarding and mountain-biking. But what about the autofocus speed? Well, what did sports photographers do before autofocus? Exactly. I’m waiting for the 14mm lens and its huge depth of field – the aim is to get right up close to the action (at the top of a half-pipe, for example) switched to manual and shove it right where it needs to be, at 6fps. Mind you, that’s what skate photographers have been doing for the past 25 years!

  15. Ken
    November 12, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Thanks for the great review and nice sample pics. I hope you don’t mind, I’ve linked to you from a post where I’m collecting a bunch of X-E1-relevant links.

    http://levelsofdetail.kendeeter.com/post/34046637694/fujifilm-x-e1-links

    • Richard
      November 12, 2012 at 2:03 am

      No problem 🙂 Good effort from you.

  16. Tony
    December 7, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Richard, many thanks for this page it has been most useful. I love the quality of the images. I too am an SLR user. Canon 40D. I love street photography and find this cumbersome so I have been looking for lighter alternatives. the XE-1 looks favourite so far although the slow focus is my main concern. I like to lift the camera shoot and put it back down without anyone noticing which might be hard if the focus is slow, do you see this as a problem also? Had also thought of the similarly priced Leica V2?. I welcome any readers comments as I am still to commit

    • Richard
      December 8, 2012 at 1:39 am

      I mostly take travel photos. They are not as candid and more often than not if situation allows I always ask for permission to take the picture. On the other side, beauty of this camera is that it often goes unnoticed. I also used to do what you do, quickly lift the camera take a shot and put it back. I know it sounds strange but I almost always blur the shot this way. It was said in many reviews, you cannot approach this camera in the same way as DSLR and I am sure the more you use it the better you become with dealing with little slower autofocus.

  17. Max Young
    July 15, 2013 at 9:26 am

    These images are amazing. A blessing to enjoy your image capture skills!

    Regards,

    Max
    Australia

  18. simon
    September 10, 2013 at 3:40 am

    thanks for the review. it is always good to hear real-world use cases of a camera. love the images too!

  19. January 11, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    Fantastic post and photos. I just bought the x-e1 and am really enjoying it so far. Still so much to learn. Real world experience reviews are so nice to read. Doing random searches online I found your website at least three times and have read several of your articles. Your work is amazing and inspiring. Ever since I started to research this camera it has given me that “feeling” of enjoyment in taking photos for ME again.

  1. November 10, 2012 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

