Home > Travel > Foggy and rainy New Year, Day 9

Foggy and rainy New Year, Day 9

Last night I spent in Hmong Sisters bar having a couple of beers.  I lasted till midnight and then headed to bed. I was quite tired and Hanoi beer wasn’t the best I ever had. I wanted to wake up early, take the motorbike and head for the Silver Waterfall. Well plan is plan but mother nature re-planed my plan. I woke up into foggy and rany morning. I din’t see anything what was further than 20 m from balcony. Valley completely disappeared in fog. I am glad i did the Cat Cat village yesterday so at least the day wasn’t completely vasted. Not sure what I am gonna do today. I need to move to another hotel thats for sure and also hope that weather will eventually get better. Last night I spent in Hmong Sisters bar having a couple of beers.  I lasted till midnight and then headed to bed. I was quite tired and Hanoi beer wasn’t the best I ever had. I wanted to wake up early, take the motorbike and head for the Silver Waterfall. Well plan is plan but mother nature re-planed my plan. I woke up into foggy and rany morning. I din’t see anything what was further than 20 m from balcony. Valley completely disappeared in fog. I am glad i did the Cat Cat village yesterday so at least the day wasn’t completely vasted. Not sure what I am gonna do today. I need to move to another hotel thats for sure and also hope that weather will eventually get better.

I rented a motorbike and off I go to Silver waterfall. It’s freaking cold, drizzling and you can cut the fog with knife, that’s how dense it is. I am going slowly, better be carefull and get the motorbike and myself back in one piece. I reached the waterfall, paid entry fee and had a look. As my friend said, it’s nice but no point to spend there more than 10 min. There are plenty of tourists anyway. I came back to my bike, had a cup of hot te and barbeque pork from lady whoo looked after my bike. Paid her 50.000 dong and I continued my way to highiest pass in Indochina. I didn’t go too far. Fog just got more dense and I decided it’s waste of time and petrol. I rode 12km back to Sapa and decided to go other way to snap some landscapes and possibly portraits. Weather on the other side wasn’t any better and I had to go through some puddles with the bike. Eventually I got my feet wet. I passed by some familiar spotd from 1st day trecking. After about 15 km I stopped by some kids. I offered them some dried fruit I bought yesterday at Cat Cat village. They seemed to be happy (and hungry) and I made few snaps. But not sure about result. I sensed they are little afraid of the camera so I didnt push it too much. I ate my chocolate crossaint I bought morning and turned back. Sapa was even more foggy than valley. I reached hotel, returned the bike (almost used all petrol they filled in) and had a long hot shower. Water pressure in this hotel was much better so I could enjoy it more. Not sure what I am going to do now…in this fog I cannot see end of my nose.

I paid another visit to Cat Cat village. I didn’t want to go far by foot in this weather. There were plenty of Vietnamese tourists this time since they have public holiday. It takes lot of patience and careful framing to make the photos look like village is remote. I think that’s the case wherever you go these days. There is not such a thing as remote village any more.

Now I am back to hotel, downloading photos to my netbook. After that I head to city for dinner and maybe massage. Tomorrow is my last day in Sapa. I have almost full day at my disposal but I won;t have access to shower so I don’t want to trek too much.  I am leaving Sapa tomorrow at 5:30 pm with hour drive to Lao Cai and catch the overnight train to Hanoi. My Vietnamese trip is very much at it’s last part.

Categories: Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

